Ok, so I didn’t do any new things worthy of note in March or April. I will plead overwhelming work stress and a case of tired to the bone. And I knew that coming up in May, I was going to have a HUGE first. Actually, quite a few of them.

So, here it is, I am in a city and a country that I have never been to before. I am in Budapest, Hungary!!!! I thought that worthy of going bold! I’m going to see things I’ve never seen before, eat things I’ve never eaten before, speak (as best I can) words of a language I’ve never spoken before. And actually, I’m going to see several cities and towns I’ve never been to as I venture out into the countryside. And then I’m going to hop on over to Austria and visit a whole new city, Vienna, and country I’ve never been to before. Bam, that’s quite a bit of firsts, if you’re counting. Which I am.

I have been wanting to take a trip by myself for a while now. Traveling alone is not a first for me – I used to do it back in the day, when I was adventurous and fearless. But it’s been a while and I wanted to reclaim that girl I was. And after the stress of the past few years, I really needed some time away from my regular life. Time to myself. And time to get out of myself. At first I was going to take a trip to some spa site and do nothing but spa and write all week. But…. I ended up looking at a map of central Europe and… I decided to go to Budapest. Within 2 days of that split second decision, the trip was booked. And per the airlines, that trip was going to be via London for a night. Can’t argue with a chance to spend time in my beloved London!

I’m excited beyond words to be heading back out into the world. God, I’ve missed traveling. This is going to sound corny as hell, but I feel like I’m supposed to be traveling. I’m never happier than when I am. But grown up life and budgetary constrictions tend to interfere, don’t they?

So anyway, I’m going to post a log of my trip. Because I want to explore everything about this trip, and I want to write and I want to remember it all. Thank you for indulging my traveling rambles that will ensue!

Szia, Magyarorszag!

